Fishfinder/GPS Recomendations

msp

I have decided to purchase and upgrade the fishfinder on my boat this winter.

I have very little to no experience with GPS.

Im looking at an entry level unit that wont break the bank.

Im looking at the following units

Humminbird 597ci HD ( comes with Navionics chip )

http://radioworld.ca/597ci-combo-card-p-11412.html

Or

Lowrace Elite- 5 HDI

http://radioworld.ca/elite-p-12058.html

Im looking on imput from you guys. Things like warranty, Humminbird vs. Lowrance, user freindly, new vs used, map chips ect....

Any other recomendations would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,

The Elite-5 is a great graph/gps. Easy to use, never an issue, I'd highly recommend. Been on my boat for 3 years now, I'll be looking to upgrade to the Elite-7 myself.

Wont comment on hbird because I am not a hbird guy but they're fine for your boat, just not mine. :)

Edited by Raf

I am a humminbird guy and have been happy with everyone i have had. This year my buddy bought the 385 ci i believe, with gps built in for 350 bucks

This was a most useful unit for salmon fishing.

My aluminum has a cheaper 500 series and my chapparal has a 700 series and i personly wont buy another make.they are all very accurate and i have never had an issue with any of them

From what i can tell it they are pretty similar units spec wise. The difference for me would come down to what map chips were available for the 2 units. Another more recent development that has me looking at HB more than Lowrance( I love my Lowrances) is that HB and Minn Kota are in cahoots and their systems compatible( see new i-Pilot)

I have that bird unit... But with the Di feature...

I give it a 4/5

Only negative is the GPS... And I haven't done a software upgrade since I bought the unit...that might solve some problems...