Anyone get Tennis Elbow from Musky Lure Chucking?

Joey

This year I did my best to master chucking big musky baits with my baitcaster and noticed a dull pain in my elbow become increasingly more sore as the months went on.

Now it hurts whenever I pick something up or put pressure on my elbow.

I bought an elbow brace the other day but it only seems to make it ache more.

Anyone else ever have this problem and if so, what remedies have you found worked or didn't work.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks

Joey

I got mine from screwing...liturally ! :whistling:

I ended up going to see the Blue Jays doctor...at that time he ran a sports medicine clinic at The Mount Sinus Hospital...

Lots of heat, cold treatments, excercise and ultra sound...

Took about three months to clear up but I would get the odd twinge once in a while afterwards

Good luck

BTW...I bought a cordless screwdriver soon afterwards... :lol:

Edited by Beans

I got it from years of bass fishing, add in the last couple years of musky/big pike tackle and it's screwed. I find the supporter helps - DO NOT get the supporter that wraps around your elbow, it makes it worse! Get the supporter that tightens from your wrist to about halfway up your arm. Tennis elbow is caused by loose tendons in the forearm NOT in the elbow. Tightening the elbow will screw up your whole arm in the long run.

Just the words of advice I received from the doctor. When I wear the supporter on the forearm, no problems whatsoever. She said it's going to be a problem for life, so just wear the supporter while fishing and any other time deal with the pain otherwise the tendons will just continue getting looser.