I JUST HAD THE MOST TRYING DAY OF MY LIFE

Muskieman

I work as a caregiver for Community Living West Nipissing.

Today I was working at the hospital caring for an 'Ol Pal who was very sick with liver failure.

At 10:55 this morning the nurses an I made him comfortable in bed.

A few minutes later I noticed that he was gonna check out... I followed protocol by pressing the bell button

and following the list of "must calls" including the priest.... he had a DNR order so the nurses nor I could do a thing.

I then made my friend comfortable and climbed in bed and layed along side him, hugged him and held his hand

'til his last breath... my old pal passed away in my arms this morning at 11:15.

Shortly thereafter my manager showed up to relieve me for a bit and give me some "Me" time... I walked the hallway for a few minutes...

@ about 11:35 a "code" went off at the hospital 2 doors down from where I was working... I assisted a Nurse to perform CPR on a 62 years old man... He'll make it :)

Then @ 12:50 on the corner of Russell and Coursol.. I stopped domestic violence dead in it's tracks.. I witnessed a guy slap his G/F Wife in the face and push her to the ground..I slammed on my brakes and jumped out of my truck and charged towards him..

I literally picked him up and bodyslammed him onto the street and dragged him to the shoulder of Coursol Rd .I said/roared " Stay the :angry: down or I'll make ya stay the :angry: down It's your choice Man!" He had no clue what kind of mood I was in or what had just hit him for that matter. The police were there in less that 15 seconds..

Turns out that this had been going on for over 10 minutes a Russell street resident had already called the police, they were on their way and the caller was still on the line with them when I showed up.

They quickly tossed him into the cruiser.. while the victim walked home with a neighbor.

I got a big kiss and a hug from the victim and a handshake from a couple of Cops.