Reviving my deep cycle battery

rhymobot

Hi.

I have a Motomaster Nautilius battery. They don't have the same model on CT's website anymore so I can't show you exactly which one I have. I seem to recall it being about $220 four years ago.

Anyway, I use it with a 32lb trolling motor on my 11 foot inflatable. And this is the fourth year using it and I go usually about 30 to 35 times a year for a few hours.

When I'm on the small lakes I almost never run out of juice even though I am hopping from one spot to another.

However, trolling is the problem. Many times I go up and down a river after work for a couple hours. And I troll on 4 or 5 speed. I'd guess after about 1:15 of actual trolling I can tell the battery is losing power gradually. And probably within 20 minutes of noticing, it pretty much slows me right down to the point of me going so slow that it feels like I'm trolling on 2 speed even though I have it on 5.

The first couple summers I had it I could troll on the river for at least twice as long.

This is the charger I use. Nautilus charger. I let it charge on "optimal" for 6 to 8 hours. And a handful of times I rapidly charged it because I went for a morning session on lake then needed the battery ready for an afternoon session.

http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/motomaster-nautilus-battery-charger-15-10-2a-0111525p.html#srp

I also kept my battery in the basement in the winter and would charge it to full once a month between Nov. and May.

Is my battery simply reaching the end of it's life cycle? Maybe I didn't maintain it as well as I could have.

But is there a simple way of reviving it by adding some kind of water? The battery itself is in good shape on the outside. Looks pretty clean. And I think it's a sealed battery.

By the way, I'm not exactly a handy person. But if there's an easy enough way of doing this I'll give it a try. Or maybe I'll just have to suck it up and buy a new one.

Thanks for the advice.