Left Hand Retreive Baitbast

LucG

I was shopping for a baitcasts reels at basspro.com and found that alot of them are only available in a right hand retreive.

Now I've allways held a rod and casted with my right hand and retreived with my left. Should it be the oposite with a baitcast reel or should I just do what feels more comfortable.

Thanks

I never understood why people would want to switch hands from spinning to baitcast. I use left-hand baitcasters as well.

In my case it`s just that I can`t do much with my left hand, I can hold a rod and I can reel with the left but when I try and cast with my left it looks like I have some kind of pyhsical disability and I find it very uncomfortable.

I'm still learning baitcasting but I discovered the same thing. I like doing it left handed. In a pinch I can handle righty but prefer left. Sometimes it feels like I'm gonna toss the whole rig in the drink when I really snap one out the way I was taught. Perhaps it comes back to the hockey thing that they talk about in golf. So many of us grew up playing hockey left handed that we just find it natural. Hence so many left handed Canuck golfers. And perhaps that's why so many of us prefer left handed baitcasters.

I was talking to a tackle shop owner from New Jersey and he said that there's not much call for lefties in casting gear in his market. He figgered that was why I got such a good deal on the LH Calcutta in Ohio. There was a righty in the same model right beside it for $199.

What I've discovered is that to find LH ya gotta go slightly up the scale ladder. The cheaper reels are only RH. But then perhaps that isn't such a bad thing if it means we start out with slightly better equipment. By all accounts a crappy BC can sure ruin an otherwise nice day.

Keep yer eyes peeled. I've bought a Quantum Energy PTi (the rainbow looking one) and a Calcutta 201B for $100 each in the last year or so. By all accounts those are decent deals.

But I'm a neophyte. What do I know. :P