Downriggers Im gonna buy a set what are good models

2 tone z71

If you are handy with electrics,you can buy used manuals (big jon are my preferrence) and turn them into electrics.

Princess Auto will have all you need.

If you want some help feel free to pm,since Im south of Thunder Bay aswell.LOL

Edited by misfish

Cannons get my vote too. I've used Big Jons and Scottys a number of times on friends boats. I bought 2 Mag 10's in 1989 and they are still working great.

There are faster and cheaper ones out there but if I ever have to buy another, I'll spend my money on Cannons

IMO spend the money and get electric

I think its a matter of personal choice , i have been running 2 big-jons captains packs since 1990,and they are still working great...all the electric middle to top of the line models from all the big 4 companies all work well,and some have a few options that other ones dont have,but figure which ones will suit you best,for example big-jons can go up & down,the boom arm,you can just grab and lift up,its great,and they are all aluminum,never rust,so just see what ones are best for you,and the price,just go to all their websites and do your homework :thumbsup_anim::Gonefishing:

If you are handy with electrics,you can buy used manuals (big jon are my preferrence) and turn them into electrics.

Princess Auto will have all you need.

If you want some help feel free to pm,since Im south of Thunder Bay aswell.LOL

I was thinking the same thing... they appear to be electric window crank motors on the inside. Go to the wreckers and buy a old door with electric windows and figure it out. Should be a fun challenge.

Definitly go with scottys. 1116 or 1117 models are the best. I love mine there super fast up and have auto stop. there free fall down so you can get there in a matter of seconds. Go with scottys you wont regret it.

Bowen