Pigeon came through!

jimmer

I haven't been out fishing for a couple of weeks which is very strange for me. Decided to go out on Saturday for some muskie and possibly some panfish. I know it's quite the difference in targets, but I usually go for what bites.

I got out around 10am and started working an area right in front of my place. Started with a Mepps Muskie Killer. which paid off within 15 minutes. I have fished for muskie for years, but will have to say that the past few years have been lean for me. I tend to like the smaller spinners because they are not as hard on the shoulders as those cowgirls and similar ones. Well I was able to get that fish in the net, take a few terrible pictures and release a 46" beauty. I'm not very good at taking photos while out by myself.

I ended up moving to another spot and continued with the mepps. Had another 40+ fish follow in, but it didn't want to commit. Continuing to work along that area didn't produce another fish, so moved a little farther up the lake. On maybe the first or second cast, a fish hit as soon as the lure hit the water. Ended up boating a nice 42 incher. Again, a crappy picture and a good release.

Called it quits around 3pm, but made a mental note of the follow.

Was able to make it out again on Monday, but once again by myself.

I started in front of my place again and had two follows within the first half hour using the mepps. Didn't get any to hit in the first area so decided to move to where I had a follow on Saturday. I figured I would switch up baits and try a Wiley Lure. I work it very slow and sure enough a beauty 42' fish chomped it.