How to Hold a Fish...

Does it really matter?

Is the vertical hold tabu just propaganda contrived by MCI/P3TA???

Is there any hard scientific data that proves the horizontal hold is better?

Why is it ok to hold a Bass vertically, but not an Esox???

Is it really better to turn an Esox in a big "U" shape by trying to hold it horizontally than it is to hold it vertically and straight in it's natural form?

Does it really matter for the short time you'll actually be holding the fish for the picture? (usually less than a minute)

What do you think?

Well Dawg, I have no experience in musky but I do know with large salmon you can literally hear the vertebrae seperating (pop, pop) when hoisted vertically.

Separating, or just nitrogen bubbles popping? You know, the same sound you hear when the chiropractor cracks your back, or when you crack your knuckles.

Well Dawg, I have no experience in musky but I do know with large salmon you can literally hear the vertebrae seperating (pop, pop) when hoisted vertically.

Maybe that's like a chiropractor adjustment and actually feels good to them? Maybe their vertebrae are just popping back into place from when you sling-shotted him into next week when he struck your trolled lure?

Separating, or just nitrogen bubbles popping? You know, the same sound you hear when the chiropractor cracks your back, or when you crack your knuckles.

Maybe that's like a chiropractor adjustment and actually feels good to them? Maybe their vertebrae are just popping back into place from when you sling-shotted him into next week when he struck your trolled lure?

I hadn't considered that, certainly possible. :)

If you don't like slime, Grab the Jack by the eyes then take a picture and send it to P3TA. Daddy always told me it doesn't hurt the Pike. Then again hes the guy that told me Horse Radish came from the Horses ears.