gas ice auger prep

GBW

Well it looks like my ice season is done. this is my first year with a gas auger so what do you do to store it?

I was thinking of running it dry of gas and putting oil on the blades. right thing to do? :unsure:

Well it looks like my ice season is done. this is my first year with a gas auger so what do you do to store it?

I was thinking of running it dry of gas and putting oil on the blades. right thing to do? :unsure:

Yes, you can also pull the plug, add a teaspoon or two of two stroke oil, turn the engine over a couple times slowly, replace the plug and say good night.

This will be like a Dodge/GMC/Ford.. or a Billy Bob brand thread.

I run Stihl oil that already has stabilizer in it. I use it for the winter and just pop it off the back of the sled and store it upright.

I might give it a bit of oil.. ala fisherman.. as it was a bit tight to start last year, but then again that could have been my clutch box falling apart.. as I hadn't had any issues the 3 years prior.

Edited by irishfield

Yes, you can also pull the plug, add a teaspoon or two of two stroke oil, turn the engine over a couple times slowly, replace the plug and say good night.

This is what I do. Run it dry, pop the plug, a few drops of oil, turn it over a few times and she'll be all ready for next season.

Well dump the fuel out first... or you'll be standing there a long time looking like a fool to the neighbours.... ;O)

FWIW.. I never run a carb dry. Stuck floats.. dried out gaskets and needle seats etc my reasoning.

Edited by irishfield

Well dump the fuel out first... or you'll be standing there a long time looking like a fool to the neighbours.... ;O)

FWIW.. I never run a carb dry. Stuck floats.. dried out gaskets and needle seats etc my reasoning.

They don't have floats, they have a diaphram.

This will be like a Dodge/GMC/Ford.. or a Billy Bob brand thread.