Big game hunting

Riparian

First off let me say that I do not hunt, and i do not have a problem with hunting at all. But I have a question for all the big game hunters out there.

When I fish, I release all large trophy fish back into the wild because I belive that these fish need to spawn and reproduce because these are the genes that need to survive to the next generation of fish. But in the case of hunting, Lets use deer hunting as an example, it seems that the main target is the largest male animal with the most developed rack. It seems to me that over time, constantly removing the prime genes will cause a degredation in the quality of the animals over say, several decades. Does this not happen? shouldnt the animals that show the best survival in the wild be allowed to reproduce to spawn the next generation of prime animals?

Im just inquiring to people who actually do hunt, as I have no experience in the matter at all.

I don't hunt, but I'll put my two cents in anyways, as I think this is a very interesting question.

The idea of what is a "trophy" fish or "trophy" moose will always be relative to what's out there in the wild. This same line of logic can be applied to genetics. The "prime" genes for a moose, deer, or any other big game is relative. I mean, if all the hunters are going after the big moose, wouldn't it be beneficial to be a small moose?

I guess my point is that we can't really predetermine what the "prime" genes are, because the "prime" genes one day just might not be the same today, as they would be 100 years from now. That's the beauty of evolution.

Lets use deer hunting as an example, it seems that the main target is the largest male animal with the most developed rack.

That mentality is alive and well on the TV shows for sure. Trophy hunters are trophy hunters if they are in a deer stand or a boat. Either way they will kill a trophy to hang it on the wall.