wood stove question, NF

Raf

i'm relatively new to wood stoves. you are looking at the inside back 'wall' of my wood stove -- a catalytic stove by elmira. is the circled crack reason for concern

can it be fixed? it's maybe 2 inches.

crack.jpg

it's not brick Chris, it's the metal back wall of the stove, in the firebox. The stove does have bricks but they are just on the floor.

The horizontal line is just shadow, no crack there.

I have the door off to replace the gasket.

crack2.jpg

Edited by Raf

I just googled that stove and man did I get results! There's a ton of info along with replacements out there. I didn't read many but it would seem that what you're looking at is something that improves the heat output of the stove while cutting down on the smoke. I got the idea that replacements were under 100.00 but without exact details of what you have/need I can't be sure. Take a bit of time and look it up Raf - y'all might find something interesting and practical for yourself.

Michael

Is that section part of the stove, or removeable Raf? Im sure it,s cast. If that section can be removed,I would think you could get a good stick man to weld it up for you. Just throwing that out there.

i don't think it's removable but may be wrong. i don't know if it's iron or steel either. i understand iron cannot be welded?

If it's any help Raf.

http://www.elmirastoveworks.com/woodstove-parts/ They don't seem to make wood burners anymore but have some parts?

??? Maybe a weld?

http://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-us/support/welding-how-to/Pages/welding-cast-iron-detail.aspx

I see what looks like a weld with a small gap on either side in your picture? The crack extends to the gap? Cast iron is brittle and prone to cracking?

I'm not sure if the stove cement would hold for to long; not unless you drilled pockets around the crack to give that cement something to grab onto. I think the expansion and contraction of the metal will likely just spit the stuff off?