90 hp johnson won't trim down

I have a 1997 90 Johnson, yesterday I was drifting with the sock out and came into some shallow water, sand bottom, I touched bottom but not very hard at all, drifting at maybe 0.5 from a weed flat into sand

I trimmed up and started the motor, got out of the shallow water and it wouldn't trim down? I made the mistake of trimming full up, so now my motor is locked up at max trim...it was a long putt back to the dock with the little honda 8 lol

whether using the trim on the remote or on the port side of the outboard i can hear the pump running when I press trim up

when i press trim down it is dead silence, nothing is happening

I really don't think running into shallow sand damaged anything because I was drifting so slow....from some reading i've read so far I think it's an electrical issue, otherwise I would hear the solenoid clicking??? the pump isn't getting any current?

I'm far from a mechanic but can figure most stuff out, hoping somebody can point me in the right direction

it's on a 17' lund vhull, have had the boat 6 months now, first issue, the owners manual didn't give any info on how to trouble shoot trim problems...the boat is used 50/50 fresh and salt water...so I'm thinking corrosion on a wire somewhere?

on the plus side the pike fising was on fire, caught a chunky 39" on the first cast....thanks for any advice.

Dig out a volt meter and check your voltages on the power trim relay pack.

Follow the power trim wiring back from the trim unit into the motors cowling.

The unit they connect to is the relay pack.

There are two relays inside the pack and it sounds like one is not energizing.

Check the wiring for tightness and corrosion and also check the jumpers on the relay for corrosion. I just replaced the pack on my buddies boat because of a corrosion issue.

You can test the power trim motor by connecting the 2 wires directly to a battery.

one way you will get up and the other down.