Need advice on purchase of this Impact Driver

huzzsaba

http://www.sears.ca/product/craftsman-md-c3-192-volt-cordless-impact-driver-kit-with-led-light-17338/609-000437871-17338

This is on Sale at Sears close to me but since I have used mainly hand tools for work on my car, I have little experience buying power tools and Impact drivers.

Can I use this for suspension work on on my car? Mainly to loosen suspension bolts and do seasonal tire changes? Is there an adapter that converts the head to be able to use with 3/8 sockets and 1/2 inch sockets?

I did a quick search on Google and it seems people use Impact drivers for cars but unsure if its recommended.

Thanks

Edited by huzzsaba

I have only used a couple of the electric impacts recently but they were not this model.
They are surprisingly strong. Although I still prefer air powered these do have their place.
Adapters are available but when going from a half inch drive down to 3/8" you should expect something to break.

Thanks for the replies. Yes I saw it but wasn't sure so I didn't pick it up. For those interested, the one in the link posted above is at sears or erin mills town centre for $99.99 and it comes with 2 batteries.

I am checking Canadian tire website for some cheap corded impact wrenches and I can't seem to find the ones that I usually see on sale at the store on the website.

I will check the stores tomorrow and see what I can find. Thanks :) .

if you are going cordless stay away from ni-cad batteries which the one in link is ....spend the money and get 20 volt lithium-ion and also consider a brushless motor as well....canadian tire carries rockwell and dewalt.....tsc carries milwaukee....all good brands

Other than air, a Corded impact wrench is the way to go for working on cars,

Don't buy the 4.5 amp light duty stuff, anything 7 amps and up is good,

I picked up a 8.5 amp Mastercraft Maximum impact wrench from CT for $69 last year on sale, regular price $229,