Beer Butt Chicken

Daplumma

I've been making these for more than a couple of years and with summer getting into full swing I thought I'd make some tonite.I like to inject myine with your favorite marinade,these are small 3.25 lb birds but I like to really fill them up in the breast and thighs.

gallery_7_64_64896.jpg

Next I take a tall boy beer and open up the lid a bit and pour out about 1/3 of the beer and reserve for later consuption by the chef.Take a couple tablespoons of minced garlic and put it in the beer can.careful ..it may bubble over!

med_gallery_7_64_66745.jpg

I then rub the chicken with olive oil and chicken rub.You can use store bought or any combination of salt,pepper,paprika,greek seasoning ect..slide the chicken over the can like this.

gallery_7_64_154007.jpg

Cover the grill with foil and cut a hole where the chicken can will go.You need a tall grill to do this.Indirect heat is key..

med_gallery_7_64_136499.jpg

Put them on the grill at med high and cook untill the breast is about 17 or so.I always feel a bit guilty cooking these in front of the girls.

med_gallery_7_64_140596.jpg

These took about and hour at temps between 450 and 550.Dig in!

gallery_7_64_155791.jpg

I'm off to eat now!!

Joe

One of the faults of this site...it will never help one diet! lol Haven't had chicken like that in years......boy do they look yummy! Thanks for reminding me of days past :)

Edited by bly

Tin foil, DOLT> why did I not think of that.. stops thoese darn burning the butt flairups :)

Looks good..

Finally a man who has slaved for his beer butt chicken.Been there done that..the would be the tip section of the post!

Joe

:spam: Lol!!

We will be passing thro' Viginny in a few weeks time,and if we smell that cooking, I'm gonna be sorely tempted to veer off for a visit. Looks sumptious....slurp ! :thumbsup_anim:

You know you are welcome here Jack,let me know.

Joe

Hey, that's what i had for dinner tonite!