Martial arts for kids

davis

I've got a 4.5 yr old son that I'm looking to enroll him in some form of martial arts - not necessarily for competition - that'll be his choice - but more for the other benefits - i.e. self esteem, confidence, discipline, etc...

I'm posting here because I swear that there was a member of OFC who had a child - daughter I think - that was heavily involved in martial arts and might be able to share some advice?

Just trying to determine which discipline he should pursue. Open to listening to all suggestions/advice - PM me if easier.

~dave

I got into it when I was 8. I've been teaching in barrie for 10 years now, part time.

Eveyone will tell you something different about what style to get in to.

I would suggest you get him/her into a club at teached more then one style.

The club I'm with in barrie does Karate, Kick Boxing, and Jujitsu. A good combination of styles. That's what you need to be successfull in self defence these days IMO.

now that's a stupid spelling mistake!!! D'oH!!! :wallbash:

Thanks for the suggestions. He hasn't really expressed interest, but he's a feisty little guy and I figured that he can benefit from the lessons learned through martial arts, including how to defend himself. Now that I've got kids, all these stories about bullies are really getting to me. I just want both my boys to have the smarts and skills to be able to look after themselves (and catch fish!) as they grow and mature...

I will vouch for judo. It is good for self defence and an olympic sport. It's nice to be able to end a physical situation without throwing a strike...generally people will back down once they get tossed once. If you do research ontario has some very well run, legitimate dojo's. I don't see how you could go wrong with greco wrestling either. I haven't done it since I was 18, but the basics are still there...kinda like riding a bike.