Mid depth smallies...?

Hello all

So I've been bitten by the bass bug... So now I have a new species to learn about... More specifically smallmouth bass...

I've got onto a few shallow (under 5 feet deep) patterns...

And I've done well deeper (12-30 feet deep)...

But I don't have much game in the mid depth water... 5-12 feet deep...

I was gunna turn to swimbaits on a hefty jig or some cranks maybe... But I was wondering what you guys like to use in these med depth situations...

FYI... I fish clear water and in current most of the time...

Thanks

Mike

Edited by Mike Rousseau

I am not a smallie expert but I aswell got that bug. I would opt for a jerk bait most likely, and try to get them to come up for it. I just got a few from 12 fow burning a spinner bait (not the best option I dont think tho)

You could also try a drop shot, seen a lot of guys throwing them on simcoe this weekend

(not the best option I dont think tho)

OH MY.

One of my favorite ways to nail smallies and largies is with a spinner bait, along with dragging tubes and drop shot. Jerk baits work well.

I nailed some largies this morning burning (or as I call it.bubbling spinner baits) Just below the surface. Two of them hit five ft from the tube. What a blast.

You sure the fish are actually there? I am not a fan of super slow fishing (tubes, dropshot, etc) unless I've located big schools of fish (usually this is in the fall).. Burning spinnerbaits is a killer smallie technique as is topwater over the edges of deep drops.

Caught some in mid depth this pay weekend on a 6" plastic worm rigged weedless. Didn't take long after the bait hit the water before the fight was on. Caught a beaut last summer on a different lake using same technique.

Pidge.

Caught some in mid depth this pay weekend on a 6" plastic worm rigged weedless. Didn't take long after the bait hit the water before the fight was on. Caught a beaut last summer on a different lake using same technique.

Pidge.