NF - Hoops and Hurdles

SlowPoke

I've been jumping through hoops and over hurdles since mid-April and I can finally see the finish line; two weeks away.

I left my job after 18 years for a new position. The writing was on the wall for closure and I hung in as long as I could stand it for a buy-out. Instead of closing, they kept me and one other person on with a signifcant change of duties. Even with seniority over the other guy, I couldn't stand it any longer and went job shopping.

I started the new gig in November. My mindset was 'I hope its better but if its not, I will at least brush up on aspects of the job I haven't done in nearly 20 years'. I drive a truck for a living and a lot has changed in terms over border crossing over the years.

I give the new gig a fair chance; 6+ months. I established very early a 'take no crap' stance and I'm glad I did. It opened a few eyes, regained some respect for drivers including myself and affected some change. I will admit that it was a little fun to be in a financial position to speak my mind when I felt it necessary and to take a stand when pressed to do something outside of the professional norms. A lot of employees in this industry are faced with immoral/unlawful challanges and feel the pressure to succumb to company's wishes, or else. It also put into perspective how good my last employer was and justified my 18 year tennure. I liked the job and the people but the company is another story. Their policies and structure inhibit productivity and my income is dependent on productivity. Time to go job shopping again.