Wheel bearings

fishnsled

Tonight I was working a set of bearings for a friend and noticed that there was no spindle washer. I've been doing my own bearings(and friends) for about 20 years now and they all have had a washer. Surfed the web and all the diagrams I could find all had one. I'm thinking that I will get a pair (one for each hub) and put them on. It seems like the nut may have some slight heat damage and I figure it maybe from the lack of a washer. The trailer is newer, about 2 years old so maybe it's new school stuff, I'm not sure. Old school has been working just fine for me. smile.gif Just wondering if anyone has ever seen this before? The pic below is what I'm use to.

FH04NOV_TRAILB_04.jpg

Edited by fishnsled

Tonight I was working a set of bearings for a friend and noticed that there was no spindle washer. I've been doing my own bearings(and friends) for about 20 years now and they all have had a washer. Surfed the web and all the diagrams I could find all had one. I'm thinking that I will get a pair (one for each hub) and put them on. It seems like the nut may have some slight heat damage and I figure it maybe from the lack of a washer. The trailer is newer, about 2 years old so maybe it's new school stuff, I'm not sure. Old school has been working just fine for me. smile.gif Just wondering if anyone has ever seen this before? The pic below is what I'm use to.

FH04NOV_TRAILB_04.jpg

In all my year's working on my trailer's,my friends and families or even at work on our new trailers i have never seen that, you need the washer on there to set it properly.

I also have been doing bearing for over 35 years and have never seen that....you never know what the factory left out by mistake or by cost cutting....