Jan 1, 2010 Ice fishing Lake Lloyd

irishfield

Not sure whos great idea this was... but to bed at 1 and up at 5:30.. to pick Terry up in Orillia by 7 and head for Lake Lloyd in Zone 15.

The great day, today, almost didn't happen... I left the old truck with a 1/2 tank of gas, after last Sunday's outing, and I jumped in it this morning to be greated by about an 1/8th of a tank... damn kids!! :angry: New Years day and of course not a gas station open in Midland.. not that any are usually open before 6 anyhow.. but I had hope. So I pedalled that old GM like I've never done before... cruise control for most of the highway travel and pulled into Orillia to see that even Timmy's was closed... oh no.. this ain't gonna be good. Thinking we're gonna be stuck in Orillia with no gas and even the peelers ain't open! lol. Got lucky and the Sunoco was the ONLY station open, right beside where I pick Terry up in front of the Hock Shop... I put 95.36 litres into a 95 litre tank !!

So fuel in the tank.. next door to load Terry's stuff and off we headed for Lake Lloyd. Around Kirkfield I threw the hood over Terry's head again (for the second time in a week) for the next hour or so. He's pretty quiet when you do that.. must be something he practices at home! :D:D

Arrived at the lake about 8:20 and loaded up our hut'boggans... to the tune of :w00t: I forgot my fishing rods in the truck! Lucky for Terry.. I had 4 with me.

With our lack of sleep.. it was great that Lloyd and Drew were already there.. and Lloyd had brought his sled, so he came in and towed us out. We drilled a few holes, got all set up and stared and stared and stared as fishies teased us on the "video game screen".