Need good spinning reel for Pike fishing

I am heading up to Angler's Kingdom at the end of May to do some Pike fishing and i need a good spinning reel that will handle large Pike. I know bait casters are the choice of most serious Pike and Musky fisherman but i just cannot get the hang of using one,i picked up and Abu Garcia C5 mag bait caster and have been tirelessly practicing with it to no avail,i either end up with a birds nest or my cast goes about 3 feet in the wrong direction. I am very good with a spinning setup as i have been using one for 20 years now but i am just worried about not being able to fight the big ones with it. So does anyone have any recommendations for a good beefy spinning reel that will hold up to some large Pike action? I would like to stay under 100$ US for a price range because i now have to buy a heavy action spinning rod to go with the new reel.

Edited by kinbud

I am not sure if they still have some....

But I know All-americanoutdoors.com had the Shimano Stradic FH on for 95.00 they were blowing them out... the FI's are 129.00

They seem to have the best price I have seen... about 60.00 less then the competition

Hard to Beat the Stradic.

G

Edited by Gerritt

Dano.. you wanna field this one? :D

Gerritt's got you covered or any other larger capacity spinning reel with some GOOD line on it. Good drag system is key..strong yet smooth to start. For the cost of the trip I wouldn't be to skimpy on equipment.

Actually it's not talked about much, but there's plenty of instances where spinning gear is preferred for pike.

One of my go to techniques is to use salmon flutter spoons. They come in a wicked array of hot colours, perfect for pike. Take off the stock hook and replace it with an oversized heavy duty siwash.

These light spoons are perfectly suited to fishing shallow weeds. The spoon can be worked slowly on top and fluttered slowly down into pockets. You can't do that with a standard spoon.