yearly elk lake trip

oxcowboy

Ok so this years trip was supposed to be a little different. we had planned on doing a 10 day back lake camping trip, (totally roughing it). well it didnt quite work out that way. our county fair ran the week before which always means long days of work for me since i am a vocational agriculture teacher and i am in charge of several of the various youth livestock shows. on tuesday the following week, my family and i were putting in embryo eggs into a select group of cows, kinda like a surragate mother. sp? any how after working cattle all day i really didnt feel like driving the 17 hour trip so i called the guys and post poned till morning. we left the next morning drove all day and night and got to elk lake around 6 am the next morning. too early to buy our liscence and not enough time to take a good snooze, so we just kinda hung out till we could get our ice and fishing permits for the trip back to the lake. we stopped at the golden eagle camp to get our supplies ice for the beer and fishing permits and then were off to meet our friends back on the lake. they had headed up on sunday from halliburton and then spend the rest of the week. on the way in we met them coming out. they had enough already, severe weather, high winds and tons of rain. they advised us not to go any farther due to washouts and terrible trail conditions. GREAT well after a little pondering we decided to just head back to the golden eagle camp and tent it there. at least we would have access to hot showers and freezers and a fish hut.

After going back to the camp and getting everything set up we headed to a close lake and started fishing. we didnt catch alot, but plenty for our first fish fry of the year and tyler our newbie landed his first pike which was a nice 28"

100_0939.jpg