NO FISHING!

GoneFishin

Ok, so I was shore fishing the other day on Lake Ontario across from the pier at the Oshawa beach. I have been fishing there for a couple years every once in a while. When I was down there last week and I had a guy approach me and tell me I was not allowed fishing there. He told me that he was a harbor commisions officer or somehting along thoughs lines and told me I couldn't fish there becuase it was a restricted water way and they had boats from out of province and had to take extra security messures so the water way from second marsh to the harbour were restricted. It didn't seem right to me so I asked him for identification and he told me he was going to phone the police. I told him that I would comply if he could atleast show me his identification and he told me again that he would phone the police if I didn't leave.

I dont know much about regulations and restrictions so I was wondering if anyone can tell me if he is telling the truth or just didn't want me near their property. I'm not sure of the name of the place but it looks like some sort of steel plant. Any help would be great.

Just get him to call the cops and then explain yourself to officers when they show up.

I am sick and tired of these idiots roaming around not letting people to fish.

This isnt the first time that i am reading about people telling fisherman not to fish here and there.

Better yet. Like Musky or Specks said, you phone the cops on him.

It would be interesting to watch his reaction when you start dialing and say "Let's see who the police want to talk to when they get here. Don't go away." Betcha he's gone in a flash.

JF

I know the old marine area is restricted......but jay walking is also illegal. There is a customs trailer on the west side of the river they may have a better idea of the situation.

:blink: Did the guy leave to go direct traffic in a parking lot?