Going deep for lakers without downriggers

JoshS

I'm going to be fishing lake trout next week without riggers <_< . Does anyone do this with any success? The methods I'm considering are the three way rig with a 3 ounce bell sinker or dipsey divers. I've never used dipseys before and have never had success with the three way for lakers. What do you guys do when fishing summer lakers with no down riggers?

Guys in my boat use bottom bouncers and they seem to work pretty well for it. Then you don't need to deal with the mess of a three way swivel. Just remember to let it out ever so slowly to get it down there without twisting up. I'd also be using a braid, they tend to cut the water much better thus getting your lure down deeper. Just be suure to tie on a flouro leader.....

Edited by Chugger

You have to understand some things like thermoclines, oxygen levels,etc.

The shallower or suspended fish may be chasing baitfish. The bottom-huggers may be resting.

Look for deep humps,ledges & points. Keep at it & you'll figure it out.

Don't use too big of a baitfish. Sonar is your guide.

ive done what you are talking about im too cheap to buy dipseys and downriggers

the key is the speed you troll ive caught lakers 40ft down using 5oz pencil weights doing 2.2 mph

with a 3 way swivel running a spoon and a raplala just like they do on erie

try it and let me know what happens

ps dont be shy to experiment