Little Lake in Barrie

goteeboy

OFNers

So, I've been fishing Little Lake off Duckworth in Barrie for about 14 years now. As many of you know it's a great lake. In all the years I've gone there I think I've struck out exactly two times. It's a great lake to practice your skills or learn a new technique. For me, I learned Texas Rigging at Little Lake. Before I owned the boat I loved the fact that their rentals were always on the cheap side. And as I became a regular, the outfitters were even willing to rent to me for just a couple hours on a weekday evening after work. I really love this lake. I know it inside out.

For the past 13 years I've caught tons and tons of hammer handle pike. 99% of the time I would practice catch and release. The average length back then, i would say would be between 20-26 inches for your average pike, probably weighing 1.5 - 2.5 pounds. It wouldn't be uncommon to catch dozens of these on a single outing. Again, many of you know that.

But here's what I've observed this year. I've been to the lake three times. First time, between the three of us, we caught at least 30 pike. Second time, between the two of us 25 pike. Yesterday, between the two of us around 20 pike. But almost all the pike were 12-16 inches. So I don't know what's going on. I've spoken to the proprietor at the marina/rental place and he's told me that the lake is not stocked by the ministry. So the lake naturally sustains itself through reproduction, which is amazing considering the amount of pressure it gets. I've also observed in past years where folks would take their limit of pike home with them too. Of course this is all within the laws, but I'm wondering now if the lake has been over-harvested. Maybe the lake has evolved and the bigger pike are not in my normal spots. I don't know.

Well, just sharing my observations. Anyone else notice this? I wonder what we could do?