GoodYear Marathon tires

lew

I read quite a few different fishing and boating websites and see alot of posts from guys having problems with GoodYear Marathon trailer tires that are made in China.

In every post though, it seems more guys have not had any problem with theirs.

My last trailer, a single axle, had the Chinese made Marathons and I put about 5000 miles on them with absolutely no problems at all. My new tandem axle trailer also has 4 Chinese made Marathons but I've only got around 1200 miles so far this season but so far, so good.

I'm always very vigilant about my tires and check the pressures before EVERY trip and never use tires more than 5 years before replacing them.

With all the negative posts about them though, I'm just curious if anyone here uses the Chinese marathons on their trailers and have you had any issues with them ??

Edited by lew

I have been towing for 30 yrs without any kind of problem with tires.I believe in lots of air and lots of grease,the trailers on the side of the road with tire and axle problems are as far as I am concerned are caused by neglect and expecting your trailer to carry way more than it should.I have seen more bent axles than I care to and I don't mean the ones that are suppose to be curved,rubber streaks being left by an 8 inch tire on the 401 can only lead to trouble.

vance

The Chinese Marathon tires are not as good as the older US made (they were all but bullet proof); but they are still a decent trailer tire.

The only issues my customers have had was when they didn’t do this.

I'm always very vigilant about my tires and check the pressures before EVERY trip and never use tires more than 5 years before replacing them.

Dan.