Oil furnace Chimney. What to do?

mattybculp

Hello all, I have recently purchased a new home about 3 months ago, and I'm going to be replacing the siding, trough, soffit, and fascia. I will get to the point, the house has what I believe to be a stainless chimney that was originally for an oil furnace. The house now has a natural gas furnace and with replacing the siding and such I'm going to be taking the stack down since its not needed. The stack is in great shape not a spot of rust or anything, Im just curious is to if it could be used for other types of heating or if its worth anything to anyone ( I know a lot of people don't heat there houses to much with oil anymore). I am by no means an expert heck it may not have even been for a

an oil furnace , im just speculating as there is no evidence that there was ever a fire place where it enters the house as it is the laundry room where the furnace etc is located. if anyone has any input that would be great its about a 13-14 ft stack .

If it's specifically for oil----no is the answer for wood

Confirm what type of venting it is before using it for another fuel

Propane and gas are all pretty well direct vented thru the wall now a days---so wood is the only other fuel

after doing some research online I would have to say I'm 95% sure its a insulated stainless chimney, and guessing I would say its in pretty decent shape. This is going sound brutal but what do I click on to add a photo, I am computer " slow". I will take a pic and hopefully the wife can show me how to upload a picture on here as she did that for my avatar. LOL