shimano calcutta conquest 401

baowu2

Hi

I am new to the casting reel game here. Was thinking about getting the conquest, want to get the best so i don't need to spend more money later on in upgrading reels. But there are people telling me if i am not fimiliar with casting reel, conquest shouldn't be the 1st reel to buy since it envolves some manual adjustments depending on the weight of your lure.

Well, just want to hear some advice here before i make my move. If it turns out to be not the best casting reel to get 1st, then i'll just stay with spinning, twinpower 4000 gm, since i have only used spinning reels.

Thx

Sammy

shimano_calcutta_conquest.jpg

Twinpower_4000MG_6.jpg

I would take the plunge and get the level wind casting reel. All levelwinds require some adjustment when it comes to casting different sized baits no matter the style and you will do this second nature after a couple days on the water....Don't be intimidated with the gadgets on these reels because they really are simple to use.....Now go out there and get yourself that calcutta,you won't regret it !!!

Cheers !!

You'll adapt faster with quality equipment. I find that better equipment is more consistant and you only have to adjust your technique. With cheap equipment you have to comphensate for the reel's inconsisticy and you'll be hard presses to develop good technique. Getting the reel setup for different bait weights is dead easy, takes about half the time as it does to tie a knot.

Top reels in my eyes :

Callcutta

Diawa Luna

Abu big game 7000

Abu c3's

If you've never used a baitcasting reel It's not hard to learn, #1 rule put you're thumb on the line a mili second before the lure hits the water to stop a birdsnest other than that you will always be playing with the knobs for the best cast on each bait but that is easy as well, you'll get the hang of it in no time.