Introduction & Help with West Nipissing

Briant

Hello to all and let me introduce myself. My name is Brian and I'm originally from Pittsburgh but have been living in NYC for the past 8 years. My favorite species to target are Muskies and I've been fishing for them for roughly 5 years now. I am a member of Muskies INC and my local chapter is NJ22 and I only practice catch and release.

I am heading up to Nipissing with my grandfather, two uncles, and a few other fishing buddies. This will be our second trip to Nipissing in four years and we are really looking forward to it. Last time was in 08 and we stayed at Sandy Heaven camp at the mouth of the French. This time we decided to switch it up and stay on the West end. Actually the NorthWest Bay and we are staying at West Nipissing Resort.

We are going the 4th week in July and I plan to target Muskies both casting and trolling. I am seeking some advice as to where to begin my search for active fish that time of the year. Is the casting or trolling bite more productive? Is trolling the main lake that time of year worth my time? Any tips or info would be greatly appreciated. The West Branch is like a maze of islands and bays and from what I understand, you really have to work for these fish which is not a problem. I will have my boat up there and it's powered nicely so getting around will not be an issue. Thank you all in advance and I'm looking forward to bagging my first Canadian Muskie!

-Brian

Welcome Brian and you've picked a beautiful part of Ontario for your vacation.

I've never fished Northwest Bay but have been fishing muskies in West Bay...a few miles south of you...for the last 10 years and I'd assume it's somewhat similar. Personally, I like to cast but alot of the guys are trollers and also do well, so you should spend time both ways and see what works best for you.