taxes to be paid on imported boats?

ch312

new 2011 lund 1775 impact

125 optimax

9.9 bigfoot kicker with trim and tilt

$24000 out the door. how much should i expect to pay for taxes and importing fees? is a price like that worth driving 700 kms one way to get the boat in michigan? i've never done the importing thing before.

option 2 is in ontario and is a new 2011 polar kraft 179 tc with 90hp e tec, electric trolling, fish finder, full covers. $22,500 out the door.

it's taken me a few weeks, but i've finally narrowed twit down to two. which one would you take and why.

Either way your gunna have to pay tax...

As for import fee... 200 bucks for the trailer...

i was under the impression that the polar kraft out the door price included taxes and with the lund i'd have to pay all taxes/duty at the border. i couldnt find the tax % on the website...

125 optimax

$24000 out the door. how much should i expect to pay for taxes and importing fees? is a price like that worth driving 700 kms one way to get the boat in michigan? i've never done the importing thing before.

option 2 is in ontario and is a new 2011 polar kraft 179 tc with 90hp e tec, electric trolling, fish finder, full covers. $22,500 out the door.

it's taken me a few weeks, but i've finally narrowed twit down to two. which one would you take and why.

You added "out the door" to the description of both boats. Do those dollar values include sales tax? Michigan sales tax is 6% and Ontaio is 13%.

I will assume they do. The Ontario boat is straight forward...minor travel expenses depending on where you bought it. The Michigan boat will break down as follows:

- $24,000 USD (+6% state tax?)

- Currency exchange = the Canadian dollar is about .02 above the US but the bank will charge you that on the exchange. Call it par.

- 1400 kms round trip averaging 17 liter/100 = $250

- one night hotel + food = $200