E-Trex(Yellow) and Magellan 315 comparison

holdfast

First as a disclaimer Ive always used a Magellan and the 315 being my second GPS, I have used it for about six years including the Arctic and Wet Weather with no problems. If I'm wrong about the E-Trex let me know as I used it only once, so I'm a Newbie. My biggest reason for buying the E-trex is that I wanted to try something different and my pet peeve with the Magellan is that it litterly kills my Batteries. I have to always carry at least one spare set

Magellan- Ive used this for six years and use it mostly for position. What I like about it is-you have all your buttons on the face clearly marked. There are 8 buttons, as well as an arrow button. The E-trex has 5 which includes your two arrow buttons. Consequently on the E-Trex you have to scroll through the pages vice going direct.

Magellan Buttons are. QUIT/ENTER/NAV/MARK/GOTO/MENU/LIGHT/PWR/ARROWS

E-Trex Buttons are/ARROWS/ENTER/PAGE/POWER

P2190003.jpg

Pros Magellan

- start up and then it will automatically give a grid once ready. E-Trex I have to flip 3 pages to get grid

- Directly hit Mark and grid is saved. E-Trex I have to remember to hit enter, then hit enter again

- GOTO is direct E-Trex I have to flip through 5 pages just to get to my way-points/ then I have to enter again just to get to the way-point/Go-TO