fly fishing'

lonnylance

Im kinda new to fly fishing for trout and salmon. after 2 seasons and being out there 30 times lol i finally caught my first steelhead on dec 12. Im trying certain setups but i really need some advice on how long a leader to use and what the best nymphs for spring would be.....just wondering if any steelhead pros can help me out with depth management????

Fly guy 33

as a relatively new fly angler myself, my first thoughts when fishing waters are to check the rocks around the shore - there is usually a good idication of whats available - I know this may not be helpfull - sorry - additionally I would try egg patterns - good luck

as a relatively new fly angler myself, my first thoughts when fishing waters are to check the rocks around the shore - there is usually a good idication of whats available - I know this may not be helpfull - sorry - additionally I would try egg patterns - good luck

yeah your right i did that and found what i now know are stonefly nymphs......so how would u fish those???? drift on bottom??? what about leader length?????

hey I am new at fly fishing steelhead still have not caught one on the fly, went out a few times in the fall with no success but I use to float fish for them and dead drifting a nymph along bottom is an effective presentation. As for leader length thats tricky and my guess is it will depend on depth and clarity. I would say you would want at least 9 feet and probably more.

Here is a great link for some videos put together by some of the guys at fly fish ontario.

http://www.flyfishontario.ca/fly-fishing-methods/targeting-specific-species/great-lakes-steelhead-primer.html

To get you going and get a few fish under your belt nothing is more effective than high stick nymphing with a strike indicator.

Once you've had some success doing that you can graduate to swinging flies for them.