Rivets replacement/repair on aluminum boat

icefisherman

I might have few rivets that need replacement/repair and would appreciate your advice as this is something I've never done before.

All of them are on the "bellow water line" part of the hull (front part of the boat), so it will not be easy getting to them from inside...

Can rivets be repaired to make them tight again to stop leaks or do they need to be replaced?

Any place in the west side of GTA/Oakville/Milton/Burlington or North West as well that does good job for not too much money :rolleyes::whistling:

Yeah I know...not easy to find such ....

How easy is to remove the floor myself (Lund Pro Sport 1700) so the rivets guy only do the rivets and I do the removing and putting back together of the floor?

What is acceptable leakage from rivets on aluminum boats? Do they all leak somewhat and how much is too much?

What do people charge for that kind of work? Say I remove the floor and they only do the rivets?

And then it they do all the work including floor removal and re-installation?

Anyhow....as you can see I could use any and all info on rivets in aluminum boats.

Hope Wayne and others who know this subject well can share their knowledge.

Thanks.

Cheers,

Ice Fisherman

Edited by icefisherman

I'd wait for Wayne (Irishfield) to get back. A trip to Penetang might be worth your while. You know he'll take care of it for you PROPERLY. You need to open up the bottom of the boat so he can get to all the rivets (both sides). Could be they only need a whack to tighten them up.

I'd wait for Wayne (Irishfield) to get back. A trip to Penetang might be worth your while. You know he'll take care of it for you PROPERLY. You need to open up the bottom of the boat so he can get to all the rivets (both sides). Could be they only need a whack to tighten them up.