Haliburton Lakes

Burtess

Heading up to the Haliburton area in a couple of weeks to do some ice fishing. We stay in a house on Miskwabi Lake (about 10min east of Haliburton). We have only fished this lake in the area and have always only come up with a couple of small lakers (12-16").

Anyone have any suggestions on other bodies of water in the area that may be more productive? I think I want to try somewhere new this year.

Thanks,

Burt :)

The hardest part about fishing that area, is picking a lake. I've been cottaging in that area for 25 yrs. Most of the lakes are pretty much the same. I find the lakes that are a little less travelled produce the best fish up there, but its tough going on them right now. Its all about access.

Slot lakes with one line are my favourites, as long as they aren't rammed with people all the time. The pressure seems to make the fish smarter. Just because you don't see anyone fishing a lake, doesn't mean there are no fish in it........HINT!!!

How deep do you normally fish? I get most of my bigger lakers in 20-30FOW. Most people fish much deeper, where the nursery fish live......HINT #2!!

A live minnow suspended under a slip float over deep water will usually get a nice fish. You won't get many, but if you get a hit, its a good one most times.

If you have a lake in mind, shoot me a pm, and I may have some info on it.

Sinker

I've got private access to the entire West shoreline of Glamor Lake (Little Bear).. but I couldn't 100% direct you there... I can only drive to it by "feel" from 4 decades+ of going to Gramma's/now Uncle's. If you can find it down Glamor Lake Rd, off the Buckhorn between Gooderham and Haliburton, you can probably access if from the outlet dam where my uncles property starts (ends at the inlet dam). Issue is the road to the outlet dam isn't marked as it's a private road on property Gramma sold off about 60+ years ago. Let me play on Google earth....

Edited by irishfield