Teenage Noob wants to catch fish but can't catch anything!!

YUMMYAPPLE

First of all, hi everybody!

I'm a 16-year-old living in Hamilton, ON right now and I want to fish. I have never fished seriously in my life but I have been fishing for several years. I mostly catch easy fish like perch, carp, catfish and panfish.

I have the following questions:

1) It's very hard catch anything except round gobies in Hamilton Harbour! What do I do?

2) I have a $10 spincast fishing set from Wal-Mart which includes a hooks, fake baits, pre-threaded line, a 4.5' rod, and some small weights. Thoughts of this?

3) Any good fishing spots near Hamilton Mountain?

4) Should I eat the panfish I catch. I know that technically, fish from hamilton harbour is safe in limited amounts, but if you were me, Would you eat small fish from Hamilton Harbour??

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks all!

As "Musky or Specks" said, you might want to invest in some better equipment, not that your $10 combo won't catch fish but it's just much easier to start and easier to handle when you hook in a bigger fish. I'd say a combo in the $30-50 range wouldn't be too bad.

Hamilton is a pretty good area for carp fishing, almost anywhere you can drop a line into Lake Ontario probably has them. I have also seen reports of others catching pike, bass, panfish, catfish and more. Do up a search here on OFC.

Personally I wouldn't eat anything coming out of the Hammy.

Good luck!

Perch up to 14 inches from Hamilton Harbour are safe to eat up to four times a month. So are Bass up to 18 inches, Pike, small Carp and Suckers, if you like. As far a s fishing spots go, you can fish almost anywhere around the Bay and catch something...

There are trout in several ponds out at the Christie Conservation area. Valen's has Bass when the season opens...

There's not much water on the mountain, that's close to the city, but Binbrook Conservation Area is fairly close.