Nipissing South Bay

NDangler

Hi everyone. I guess technically I'm a newbie. I posted a couple times back in October, and I've finally got the chance to head up to Ontario in a couple weeks so I thought I'd check in and see how things are going. I'm heading up to the South Bay of Nipissing, staying on Jessup Island, with my dad and a couple buddies for a week of fishing. We used to fish South Bay from 1997-2000 and then switched to the West Arm and a couple other lakes in the states since then. Really looking forward to heading back to the South Bay though. I've heard that the water is a little deeper and cooler this year up there. How much are the water levels up? I've been checking the North Bay weather reports and looks like it might be a pretty cool week. Has anyone fished the South Bay recently? I was wondering if the cooler temps and higher water levels has moved some of the bigger pike into shallower weedbeds (ie fish bay and hunter's). The last time we fished South Bay we caught a few good pike on deep weed edges on the east shore. Just trying to figure out a game plan for the week. We're all catch and release fisherman except for maybe a couple walleye for a shore lunch one day. Mostly targeting muskie, pike and smallmouth. I'll definitely post a report when I get back. Also, if anyone wants it, I've started keeping a detailed log of where we fish, what we caught, lures, weather conditions, etc. that I'd be happy to send to anyone who fishes this area often. Just send me a pm. Also, if anyone will be fishing that area the week we are up there there will be 3 of us fishing out of a 17ft tracker (white/gray/blue). Feel free to say hi.

tight lines everyone!

Hey, i can't help much as i've only been there once myself, but when i was there last week i caught a few small mouth in meadow bay, i wasn't really fishing much as i had the whole family there, caught the bass casting to shore with wacky rigged senkos, a couple were 16-17ins, good luck.