Florida Intercoastal Dock Fishing

Toronto_Angler

Got an Airbnb with the Family here in Indian Shores Florida for the next 2 weeks. Got a dock in the back yard so just tossing out some frozen shrimp on a jig head and seeing what I can catch. Mostly catching some saltwater catfish that put up a pretty damn good fight. Had the fun of getting finned by one with my careless handling so spent the next hour with my hand in hot water! Also caught this other fish attached that Im not sure what it is if maybe some members can help? Thinking small mackeral? It put on a hell of  a display jumping out of the water.

Anyone fish down here and have any tips I can use or what else I can catch? Must admit I'm a rookie to saltwater fishing.

florida.jpg

• Like 1

Looks like a ladyfish.   

You'll do really well in the dark, you can legally use a light at night to attract bait which in turn attracts the bigger fish.  I wouldn't be surprised if you'd get some snook around there at night time.   Shrimp and jigheads is a pretty simple setup, basically all I use when fishing Florida (Although I use half a shrimp).  You're close to all kinds of good fishing, I'd definitely get out on the beaches as well and fish the Gulf.  Maybe head up towards Sand Key Park and see what you can find there?  I usually do most of my fishing near Honeymoon Island State Park on the dog beach in the main channel.  Pick up some Docs goofy jigs, tip with half a shrimp and snap them back fast.  I've caught everything on that setup.  Sharks, pomps, ladyfish, rays, jacks, mackerel, whitings, snook etc.  

Edited by BillM