US waste water plant takes a big crap into the Lower Niagara River

chris.brock

http://www.chch.com/sewage-discharged-niagara-river/

I saw this on my local CHCH news this evening. I guess all the details aren't available yet.

I'm not a big fan of the mantra "the solution to pollution is dilution".

I'll likely be drinking this stuff later this week.

Unreal

We just had a "dump" of sulphyric acid last week. This is inexcusable

There is another thread here about the same incident. I thought it was on the Queenston side. So my in laws can't be blamed. Yep, control the pollution through dilution was something that was actually used by our engineers in the 70's and 80's at Stelco in Hamilton believe it or not Chris, I hope you all believe it. There was no such thing as an Environmental Dept. then. When I said that there was such a thing as Smog over the plant in the early 70's as a young engineering student I was laughed out of the room of the Inter Sanctum and never invited back by the WW2 vets that were in control of everything and anything. That previous year at school was the study of environmental effects of manufacturing in Hamilton that I worked on. I knew nothing about the cost of doing business. I was warned but didn't listen. They put me in Accounting for 3 long years, and on shifts until I saw the light.

Edited by Old Ironmaker

https://www.neorsd.org/about/southerly/

And located in an area here prone to flooding near the Cuyahoga River which runs into Lake Erie.

A long way from Erie. Looks to be local to Lewiston NY. Please not Erie. Another if it doesn't effect me I don't care. This won't be on the first page tomorrow in Toronto, where the country evolves around.

Edited by Old Ironmaker