Help with new rod!

Garcia96

Hello I'm new to ontariofishingcommunity.com and I love it! But was wondering if someone on here could give some advice. I'm about to make my first order online at Americanlegacy.com and wanting to purchase the Diawa ballistic ex 2500 and the Shimano zodias 6'8" or 7' medium light action rod. Do you guys think it's a good match and good balance?

Also my current rod is an Abu Garcia 6'6" medium action rod and it says max lure weight is 3/8 oz.. The new rod I want to buy is medium light action only and its 7 feet but says max lure weight is 3/8 oz? Does that mean it will have same fighting strength? I'm asking because they don't carry just the medium action rod. Reply back would be much appreciated :)

As far as the rods they are both good choices and I wouldn't over think it much. I have a 5'6 Abu ultra lite as well as a 6'6" and I love them both. I don't buy anything I can't see and touch. Can you not look at one locally then buy it online if it's a deal. Both the local tackle shops I deal with will match most online prices and order the item in. Fishing World and Bill's Bait in Hamilton.

I would like to welcome you aboard. Good fishing.

I assume that the $169 price is in USD which works out to $263 in Canadian dollars plus shipping of course. If I were you I'd shop in my area which in your case is a decent area for tackle shops. Go talk to them and see what they say. Then you can always come back to our classifieds and see what some of the members here in your area might have for sale. Just a thought.

edit: Wayne's too fast. :D

edit: Wayne's too fast. :D

so easy to make an inappropriate comment there...

Go to a few smaller places that have the brands you're after and put the rod and reel together to see if you like the feel of it. You might find a rod or reel off your list to match up better. If I ever buy online I know what I'm getting from seeing it and holding it prior. The CAD vs USD will kill your "deal" as stated...