any dog trainers?

chickenhawk

Hey guys i just picked up an englush springer pup. He is only 9 weeks but starts basic obedience classes next week. I would like to train him to flush rabbits and upland birds but mostly rabbits as there are more hunting opportunities where i live in southwestern ontario. My question are there any trainers on this site that would be willing to work with him and myself as i am new to this as well over the wknds during the winter months or does anyone know someone who they could refer me to? Thanks for any responses i am open to any suggestions guys as to the steps i need to take to make Loomis a great flushing dog. Thanks guys!

was he bred for pet? or from a proven field line?

get this book, the trainer i worked with recommended it, it was easy to follow

Gun DogTraining Spaniels and Retrievers, Kenneth Roebuck

http://www.amazon.com/Gun-Dog-Training-Spaniels-Retrievers-Kenneth/dp/0811711145

only worry about basic obedience and establishing your bond during the first 6-8 months, get him exposure to the woods and smells and sounds, etc but don't worry about gun training so much, just basic obedience and lots of love and praise, build the bond so he learns to trust you no matter what

don't push him too hard, their brains are basically mush when they're puppies until about 1.5-2 yrs, keep the training sessions short during the first year and work on the important little things, like retrieving toys to hand, coming to you immediately, stop and out commands, hold command, trash break him, gun shyness, etc....basically go for a hike and let him have fun, while shooting a bird or rabbit along the way, build it up for him, don't make it a chore or forced