Storage Wars

danc

I'm sure that some of you guys have seen this show. I know that I watch it often and am amazed by what some of these guys find in abandoned storage lockers. My step son Pete had his own storage wars like incident. He was cleaning out his basement today and came across this.

mantle1.jpg

mantle2.jpg

The autograph is not real. It is printed on the card. Which is a good thing because often an autograph can lessen the value of a sports card. A quick search on Ebay show the exact card, but in much worse condition, asking $1000.00. That card had damaged corners and fading. I'm not an expert, but Petes card looks absolutely mint to me. The corners are razor sharp and otherwise, there's not a mark on it. It also has not been exposed to light for ages and the coloring is vivid. He will get it appraised and decide what to do with it in time.

So it was his....and he forgot about it?

We were on a construction site this summer and one of the excavator operators was waving around a MINT rookie Gretzky card. It was the most valuable one (o-pee-chee). The supervisor told him what it was worth and told him to go lock it up in hs truck.

We were on a construction site this summer and one of the excavator operators was waving around a MINT rookie Gretzky card. It was the most valuable one (o-pee-chee). The supervisor told him what it was worth and told him to go lock it up in hs truck.

in the 80s Gretzky had a cookie that came with one card ....there were 50 to the set....ive got a whole set....some of those cards were reproduced through the McDonalds series cards...i had a dude offer me 500 for one card of Gordie and Wayne together...i wouldnt break the set.

That Mantle card is an AWSOME score.....dont go by what people are asking for cards on the internet to price it ...i think the book is called Becket or something like that ...i would say good luck on your search ....but i think he has all the luck he needs....Good Find!