Which line should I use for Salmon/steelhead?

fisher12

Steelhead/Salmon fishermen often use very specialized equipment. However the basic techniques for river fishing are the same for Bass, Pike, Musky, Trout, Steelhead or Salmon.

As a beginner, I will assume you will have to use your basic spinning outfit...It will work fine to cast small lures and to drift baits in a river.

If you are spooled up with eight to ten pound test mono or fluoro you are all set. If you are using braid, I would suggest a short leader of clear line at least for drifting baits when the water is clear.

To get started you can simply cast a small crankbait like a Rapala, a spinner such as a Mepp's or a spoon like the Little Cleo, down-stream, across the current and clank it back as it swings below you.

With baits such as worms, minnows, flies or roe you cast up-stream in running water. You will need to get the bait close to the bottom. This can be done by weighting the line, or with a three way swivel and a dropper with lead shot attached. Alternate methods include surgical tubing with pencil weights or Slinkies etc. The point is you need to adjust the weight so that the sinkers tick bottom, but don't snag...

These baits can be fished with or without a bobber. You cast them up-stream and pick up slack line as they drift back toward you.

Longer rods, lighter lines and special reels can make this type of fishing easier, but to get started, you can use your basic spinning gear.

Good luck

Garry2R's

Edited by garry2rs

Guest ThisPlaceSucks

float fishing, casting hardware, bottom bouncing?

the type of fishing will determine the test, material, and characteristics of your mainline.