TIGER MUSKY and Pike in Kawartha Lakes!! - Pics

Slayingm

Although I have heard rumors in the past that some Northern Pike have invaded Balsam lake through the locks from Canal lake I found what happened a couple days ago disturbing. I had some customers out on a guided fishing trip on Balsam lake and although we had a awesome day catching lots of nice Walleye we boated a Pike and only 5 minutes later we caught a Tiger Musky!! I have been fishing this lake for over 25 years and have never caught either species there before.

I sent these pics with some other details to the MNR for file (which they appreciated) and they confirmed with me the practice that any angler catching a Pike in any of the Kawartha lakes should keep it and not release.... this is exactly what we did. I fear that in a few years Balsam (and possibly other kawartha lakes) could go the way Canal and Dalrymple lakes did. They both used to be awesome Muskie fisheries years ago, followed by a few years of nice Tiger Muskie and now the Musky are pretty much gone and replaced by alot of smaller Pike.

One thing for sure is that the colours and bar patterns on a Tiger Muskie are absolutely beautiful... here is a pic of the one we boated:

BalsamTiger0609.jpg

Here is a pic of the Pike we caught and kept minutes before catching the Tiger Muskie:

BalsamPike0609.jpg

Remember that if you ever catch a Pike on any of the Kawartha lakes KEEP IT!... also a good idea to contact the MNR and give them specifics in terms on lake, location etc.

Take care and Good Fish'n.... Greg.

Edited by Slayingm

I have also heard about people catching pike at Balsam, I used to fish that lake quite alot, hopefully it won't turn into another canal/dalrymple as you said.