Inspired by 'Inside a Pikes Stomach'

albany_guide

I was inspired by the thread about the pike with crayfish in its stomach to post a couple pictures from a few years ago. While I was in school I used to work as a fishing guide on the Albany during my summers. There was a small First Nation community 20km down river and some members would come up to occasionally net sturgeon, which they would bring back to their community to eat. I would used to help them empty their nets and clean their fish. A large pike was once caught in one of these nets, where it unfortunately died. It was the only pike I ever saw get caught in a sturgeon net. Anyways, here is a picture of the fish, as well as what was in its stomach (the fillet knife is there for size reference). As a side note, the fish was eaten. As a second side note, please don`t hijack this thread and turn it into a 'should they be allowed to net fish' debate. I'm just sharing a cool pic...that's all! Enjoy!

pike.jpg

Here are couple of videos i found on youtube of pike eating another pike and just attacking a lot of different baits.

First here is a video of a pike smacking something that looks like a dog toy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AD2tZu9u5qE...feature=related

video of pike eating another pike

Video of a little musky trying to eating a trout ( I think this video has been around )

and a video of a pike attacking another fish on the line

Cool pic, thanks for sharing.. Eating sturgeon?? no hijack but did not know you could eat these.. Did you try it ?

Sure that was done for centuries just courious about eating it.

Never heard of eating or netting sturgeon in my lifetime. Should of never mentioned the Sturgeon. Now Im curious. As far as the Pike, witnessed my Buddy catching a 26lb Pike below the Lachine Rapids in Mtl. When he cleaned it , it had a 3lb Brown trout. Imagine the St lawrence River.